Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Most students cannot apply for jobs in their own profession after graduating from university. In my opinion, the root of this problem caused by the higher education system does not have some practical experience. Modernization of this should be a good solution. Traditional university education does not prepare students for their first job for a number of reasons. One of them is that many programs are too theoretical. It means that highly educated graduates lack the simple skills required for employment. For example, in the IT sphere employers prefer candidates with hands-on experience as a junior worker. Another reason is that universities offer too many courses in popular fields of study, such as business and law, and do not recruit enough students for engineering and science programmes. For instance, the UK labour market has an oversupply of law graduates and a deficit of engineers. A reform of higher education could prevent many of the problems. Moreover, it will have good effects if universities and the government decide to work together. When universities worked closer with employers, they could teach students practical skills that companies look for. Meanwhile, the government could develop guidelines on how many students universities should recruit in each subject in accordance with the market demand. For example, recent research concluded that demand and supply for engineers and IT workers will increase by 50% next 10 years. In conclusion, most graduate students cannot apply to junior positions in their own profession caused by many reasons. The higher education programmes are too theoretical and the number of students, who graduate from a humanitarian profession is more than technical graduates. The universities and the government could improve the situation by updating the content of programmes and managing the number of students in each subject in order with the market demand.