Scientific research should be primarily funded by governments instead of commercial companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century is led by innovation and scientific research and development is the backbone of most of the innovations and inventions. Many people believe that scientific research should majorly be funded by government bodies, whereas some others believe commercial companies can also fund the research and development projects. I strongly believe that anybody who has the means can fund scientific research, be it the government bodies, private or public companies, etc. There are still a lot of problems around the globe that needs to be solved through science and technology. The human race needs all the money and effort required to solve these challenges. In such a scenario, limiting the research to only government bodies becomes a bottleneck to solve the problems of the world. Public and private companies have a lot of resources at their disposal and if those resources can be utilised to solve the challenges we face today via scientific innovations, we should definitely utilize them. A recent example is how Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation using private funds solved the toilet problems of many countries of Africa by inventing self sustaining toilets. Commercial companies have expertise in their respective domains and when they led the research and development in their respective domains better results can be achieved. Governments even though has various state and federal bodies, their primary functions is people welfare and taking care of the basic necessities of their people. So for many governments it’s many a times next to impossible to go niche in any specific area for scientific research. Recently the Indian government wanted to roll out biometric identification for its citizens, however, they were only able to achieve it with appropriate support from Tata Consultancy Services which is a public company with the means and technology to implement it. To conclude, in the above essay I highlighted how scientific studies can benefit from the resources of commercial companies. For the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that not only governments, but public and private companies should also fund scientific research and development.