Some people believe that allowing children make their own choices on everyday matters( such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One common area of debate among parents is the extent to which children should be trusted to make their own choices and, the potential impact they will have in their sense of responsibility. Although, decision-making skills will help in some ways, I believe parents should dictate their decisions for children in order to make them aware of others. On the one hand, children who have been allowed to make their own decisions will eventually develop a sense of responsibility. For instance, if parents pick out your clothes, then you do not need to check weather forecasts, and make the choices or concerns about the trends in fashion. Over time, they will likely become dependent on their parents. Later in life, those children will not have developed any skills because of their parents, which smother them with attention and make the majority of their decisions for them. Contrast this with children, who pick out their own clothes, they will have to consider these factors carefully and it will make them responsible when it comes to shopping, and taking care of their wardrobe. On the other hand, I still personally believe that parents should make the majority of their decisions for children to make them aware of others. For example, some parents have the logical and ethical choices to be vegetarian and they force their children to do the same. This can have a positive effect not only on their individual lives, but on the environment. This is a learning opportunity for parents to teach their children about ethics. They can also make the argument that the industrial farming is inhumane and animals should be treated with more respects. Thus, this will have a carry-over effect resulting in the children growing up to be more thoughtful towards others. In conclusion, In my opinion, parents should make the majority of their decisions for children, so that, they can be more empathetic. They should work with teacher in their efforts to raise conscientious future citizens.