Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world advertisement has become a significant tool for marketing a product. Indisputably, it must be admitted that advertising creates awareness for products that may improve our lives. Nevertheless, one cannot deny the fact that promotion induces people to buy unnecessary products. I strongly believe that the latter is more correct. I will expatiate on both these viewpoints in the following passages and finally conclude by expressing my opinion. To start with, there is a plethora of compelling reasons why advertisements encourage people to buy unnecessary items. First of all, multinational organizations create crafted ads to allure consumers to purchase their products. For instance, Weight loss supplements are gaining so much popularity and heat in recent years. However, health experts are of the opinion that shedding the extra pounds is only possible through controlled proper diet and gym. Moreover, the products are promoted vigorously across many channels such as TV, social media and newspaper to gauze consumers' attention to buy a good that may be of no need to them. Admittedly, we cannot deny the fact that advertising is an effective and powerful way to spread the word about important issues in society and products, such as AIDS awareness, diabetes monitors, and other health-related concerns. If it weren't for mass-market multi-media campaigns informing about the public and safety concerns, then a world would have been a dangerous place to live. Furthermore, advertising of the same kind of products from different vendors helps in competitive pricing. For instance, the mobile phone adds from Samsung, Apple, and Nokia provides one with varying options to choose from and thus, greatly benefits us. In a nutshell, I firmly believe that advertising lures us to buy unwanted items through crafts ads and an influx of campaigns across various channels. On the bright side, promotions can be informative that can inform people of new products in the market that can help people live their lives less stressful and also, influence the pricing of goods.