Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The way people buy their groceries have changed dramatically. Due to the fast pace growth of multinational grocery stores, many small time merchants have gone out of business. Some believe that this has a detrimental effect on the local community. I completely disagree with this argument, as I believe stronger presence of large organisations will aid to boost the local economy and will provide great benefits. Multinational grocery stores have revolutionized the consumer's shopping experience. In other words, the way we used to shop was by going to a local retail grocery store and ask the owner of the shop or give them a list of items that are required. They, then would select the items which are available in the store and provide the items regardless of the consumer brand specific choice is. Sometimes these items are sold at the maximum retail price.Whereas, in large grocery stores the consumers have a greater power and a choice when purchasing an item. For example, when I shop, I would always be on the lookout for discounted products and also, compare between many products before my purchase. Therefore, from a consumer standpoint multinational companies provide a better shopping experience than the traditional methods. Despite many benefits, some believe with the strong presence of large grocery stores in our local community would eventually make the small-time shop owners go out of business and will have detrimental effects to the local economy. While I would agree that many small businesses will be shut rapidly I would disagree with the latter. Multinational grocery stores are usually large in size and require the manpower to continue with the day-to-day tasks. This obviously creates jobs for the local youths within the community. Not only this, these organizations also consider purchasing products from local farmers to keep-up with their corporate social responsibility (CSR) projects which will also boost the local farmers.