While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Some critics judge that criminals should have been sentenced, whereas others contradicts this idea and insist that there are many other beneficial approaches to reform them. In my opinion, I believe offenders can have positive contributions to the public if they are not only puts behind bars and willing to transform themselves. When it comes to prison, many taxpayers argue that paying the bills for criminal's accommodation is an illogical thing as offenders commit heinous crimes, but still receive benefits from the public. Therefore, doing community service is the best choice for criminals since they are available to pay back to the community. Doing so, simultaneously, can also make up society's needs, such as lack of labourers to work unskilled jobs. There is no doubt that it is a cost effective punishment and a cheaper alternative to prison. For some offenders who have been sentenced to long term in prison, they will find it a challenge to integrate into the society, along with finding employment after released. This is because of their criminal records, which is founded upon in society. However, doing community service can give them a new chance to reform, change their impression on society and also prevent them from re-offending again on the condition that they are willing to change their behaviour. What is more, if ex-convicts continue to utilize their personal skills during their sentence, it will help them. As a result, prison is not the only method to retribution offenders. In conclusion, although some supporters of the prison believe that it is the only way to punish criminals, I agree with others that being effective to use ex-convict's skills to do community service is the best option for the public.