children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

In a world where technology is controlling everything around us, it is of no surprise that lately, television has become a greater part of people's lives, especially children's lives. Nowadays, children spend most of their time in front of the television. To be fair enough concerning this topic, one can't deny that spending more time watching television has its pros and cons. To start with, television has helped children develop their language and critical thinking skills. Some skills that are really important in life. Although television is taking away so much, time for children, yet they are benefiting from their time in front of it indirectly. For example, the hours they spend listening to the characters' conversations help them develop their language skills and learn new vocabulary. To add to that, the variety of topics they encounter on television help them develop their critical thinking and grasp greater knowledge. On the other hand, television itself, has many disadvantages. The topics or the things a children watch, might mislead him in a real life. For instance, the violence that a child might see on television might make him think that this is very normal, and that one can make use of it while facing any problem in real life and this might lead him to some serious issues afterwards. In conclusion, technology, and in particular, television like most other things in life, has its advantages and disadvantages. Children should try to make the best out of it and spend their time wisely. And here comes the role of the parents.