With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

The demand of foods has risen due to a growing population. Therefore, Some GM supporters believe that governments ought to increase the production of GM food. The essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this suggestion and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of GM foods are to provide cheap price and to add extra essential nutritions. Firstly, the costs of productions are much lower than traditional farming so people are able to afford some basic commodities, such as rice and bread. Because of this biotech advance, it is possible to alleviate the problem of hunger worldwide. Secondly, food can be modified in order to add extra essential nutritions, such as protein and fibre, which also be given more flavour and a better texture. As a result, not only do GM foods prevent the problem of starvation, but also provide much healthier ingredients. However, GM foods also have its drawbacks like a treat of the environment and an influence on human health. The numbers of GM food factories may produce greenhouse gases, which pollutes the air and eventually contributes to global warming. Also, no one knows exactly what the effect of GM food will be in the long term. If people eat too many genetically modified foods in their daily lives, it will be likely to eventually affect human's organisms adversely. As a consequence, humans cannot completely reply on GM food to tackle an overpopulation issue as it has some negative impacts. In conclusion, although GM foods can reduce people's costs of living and help them to absorb sufficient nutritions, people should take into account the environment and prevent overeating GM foods.