Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive the government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

A widely heated debate regarding whether the merits of education funding should be limited to only subjects needed by society outweigh the demerits has received accumulating attention from the public. As for my perspective, I am opposed to the statement, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. An array of factors might lead to why allocating all government funding to certain fields seems attractive. First of all, this policy can fill the labor shortage in subjects catering to the job market, since it encourages students to select funded majors. For instance, semiconductors and software services play a crucial role in Taiwan’s economy, accounting for 80% of job openings in this small island. Therefore, after the Taiwanese government waived 100% of tuition fees for students who studied electrical engineering over the decade, companies like TSMC no longer face challenges in finding enough well-educated employers. Secondly, providing incentives for individuals to study certain subjects helps them live a relatively steady life without concerns about being laid off. This is simply because industries that are needed by society usually have consistent demand among citizens, which makes variations in annual revenue little. On the other hand, in my opinion, the shortcomings of concentrating education budgets overtake the benefits. To begin with, youngsters who are not interested in funded subjects will be underserved. As a result, this policy fails to foster diverse development among every individual. Additionally, some endangered professions will disappear in the future if the authorities opt not to spend money training young talents in those fields. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, the drawbacks of funding only certain subjects surpass the advantages because it ignores part of people’s interests and may be detrimental to some vocations.