Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have been trying to study and explore space for centuries either from earth or by launching satellites. While some believe that space exploration today is an unnecessary use of resources others believe in its contrast. In the following paragraphs, we will discuss both the views and conclude with a comparatively stronger argument. To begin with, studying the universe helps us understand our own planet better. For example, We did not know that Earth revolved around the Sun until an astronomer noticed other planetary movements using telescope ages ago. Today we send satellites in space to find new elements or study weather patterns. We have been able to predict the effects of global warming by studying other planets where carbon dioxide levels are high. Hence, space exploration helps us identify our own planet rather than the outside space. On the other hand, space explorations needs millions of dollars to be invested in, which could be used in other sectors. For example, India being a developing country invests a lot of money on space research which could be used in other sectors. Most of the population in India is still under poverty and a citizen paying taxes would rather want betterment of the poor or at least better infrastructure for self. Therefore, space operations require a lot of funds which can be utilised for the betterment of people. In conclusion, although space exploration has been imperative in discovering our own planet, but it requires a lot of monetary support which can be invested for humanitarian purposes. I personally opine that space exploration must be continued as it broadens understanding of our planet.