All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for the rise in obesity and how could it be tackled?

It is irrefutable that obesity is one of the major issues faced among all age groups across the globe these days. The number of individuals affected by it has dramatically increased since last two decades. This essay will discuss various reasons behind increasing such cases and will propose various measures to ameliorate the situation. Children and juveniles are really fond of junk food these days and there is a drastic transition in their eating habits and preferences. As these food items are unhealthy and contains various substances to make a person potentially fat and unfit, the children who often eat them become obese easily. A recent research concluded that children who eat packet items such as chips and chocolates are at a higher risk of facing obesity issues as it jeopardise the growth of minors. Not only children, this problem have enormously grown among the adults as well. One of the major reasons behind it is their unhealthy lifestyles. Many people are engrossed in their work life so much that they do not get any time to do any physical activity or exercise. Moreover, as they are sitting throughout the day in their working place, there is no breakdown of fat in their body which consequently leads to an unhealthy and obese body. To improve the current situation, authorities can impose some heavy excise duty on unhealthy food so that they are not readily available to the public easily. Secondly, multi-national companies should encourage their employees to take some exercise breaks between the work to encourage a healthy life among the workers. Thirdly, some awareness talks can be arranged at schools and at work places to spread the ill effects of obesity among humans so that people start taking this issue seriously. For instance, Tesla arranges an annual conference for all its employees, which focuses on health and well being of all its subordinates. In conclusion, junk food and less exercise are two major reasons for increasing obesity cases among children and grown up and it can be handled by some pragmatic approaches.