Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees that it is beneficial. To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalisation is here to stay, driven by advances in information technology and economic progress and increased international trade and investment. It has had wide - ranging positive and negative effects on employment and economic development, scientific research, language and culture and the environment. One positive result of globalisation is the global distribution of labour, it is now easier to move to other countries to find work, and this leads to better employment prospects for people and to more diverse workplaces. Not only this, capital and industrial resources have migrated to developing nations, thus providing local jobs and boosting local economies. It has also resulted in greater contact between different cultures, as travel has become relatively safer and less expensive than past. Further, ease of communication has encouraged and unprecedented level of global scientific research and co-operation and a subsequent explosion of knowledge and information. A downside of this global economy is that when a catastrophe occurs as in the recent global financial crisis that started in the USA, it affects the world. Similarly, when a virus emerges in one region of the world, it spreads rapidly, threatening worldwide health. Furthermore, globalisation affects culture and language too, minority languages are dying out because of the high demand of learning English for International Business and indigenous culture are dying out in favour of a dominant. Finally, levels of pollution are rising as countries strive for economic growth and competitive edge in the global market. In conclusion, globalisation is a double-edged sword that has created jobs and promoted international co-operation but has led to cultural losses, more environmental damage, increased health risks and exposure economic crisis. So government as well as society should take some mutual action against the negative development of globalisation.