Social media is popular and used by many people. However, some people think that social media can be bad for mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that social media plays an essential role in this contemporary world. However, plenty of people think that social media has a detrimental effect on mental health. In my opinion, I agree with this statement. On the one hand, it is undoubted that social media is a valuable tool to keep in touch with families and friends, especially when we are not able to meet in person since living in different places. For example, students studying abroad are able to communicate and connect with their loved ones by making video calls or posting on social media platforms such as Facebook or Instagram. As a result, they not only stay connected with their families but also receive support in case of any emergency. Moreover, businesses can approach their clients easily by creating content about their brands. For instance, most clothing stores in Vietnam usually promote their products on social media platforms to attract more customers. Consequently, this will contribute to the improvement of their business and increase their brand awareness On the other hand, I believe that social media can have a detrimental impact on people’s mental health, especially young individuals who tend to prioritize online communication over in-person interactions. If they spend most of their time surfing the platforms, they may neglect their studies, hobbies, and relationships, potentially causing feelings of isolation. As a result, the constant pressure to maintain a perfect online image can exacerbate anxiety and depression, particularly in vulnerable individuals. Furthermore, as social media becomes more popular, online crime also increases, as it is challenging for the government to control all online activities effectively. For example, scammers can contact a victim by phone or message, and require the victim’s information. If the victim provides it to them, their bank account will be completely emptied, or their personal details will be sold to others willing to pay for it. After that, with just one call, the victim not only remains unaware of the caller’s identity to report but also increase level of concern on social media. As a result, they may be less likely to believe any messages received by phone and have a negative impression of anything related to technology. In conclusion, while social media has its benefits, it can also have negative impact on people’s mental health. Therefore, it is crucial to use it wisely to minimize its adverse influences.