Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree?

Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree? In this capitalistic world, everything is monetized and art is no exception. Society, these days, is abuzz over a debate that the majority of artists are not adequately paid for their work. Hence, the government should intervene and pay them fairly so that their work could proceed unabated. I strongly believe that the government should bail out the under paid artist due to the following reasons. The first and the foremost reason is my penchant for and personal inclination towards arts and artists. I am a great admirer and fond of art and therefore hold artists in high regards. Thus, I strongly advocate that the artists struggling financially must be assisted by the government. For instance, there are some European countries where the government has established dedicated agencies for the promotion of the artists which is indeed a great initiative. Moreover, it is an established fact and a natural human phenomenon that our mental productivity is adversely affected by stress and worries. Therefore, it is imperative that artists facing financial woes must receive monetary support in order to relieve them of all the worries caused by the financial constraints. In this way, they would be able to flourish and thrive, which will consequently enhance their imaginative and creative skill and they would continue to inspire and influence others with their work. Furthermore, a strong art sector would be an economic asset and spur business activity and growth. Therefore, by supporting and appreciating art and artist, government can enjoy a good return on investment in terms of tax revenues. For instance, there are various western countries which have an unrivalled reputation for their art sector, which contributes significantly towards the economic growth of such countries. Therefore, on the basis of aforementioned reasons, it would be justified to say that government must lend a helping hand to struggling artists to promote and appreciate them, to foster creativity and to benefit from economic gains, art sector can offer.