Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that reading books is a better way for people to develop their imagination and language skills, in comparison with watching TV. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion, and will give my reasons below. On the one hand, people reading books can enhance their creativity better than those watching TV. It is undeniable that words enable readers to visualize what they read, and there is no restriction to such imaginative thinking. For instance, if a hundred different individuals read the book “ One thousand and one nights ” simultaneously, it is possible for them to visualize a hundred different images of Aladdin, who is the main character in this story. In contrast, whether a hundred people watch the movie “Aladdin” on TV together, the only Aladdin that they can think of afterwards will be the one played by Mena Massoud. This demonstrates that watching TV is overcome by reading books in term of the ability to stimulate one ’s imagination. On the other hand, watching TV performs a more important role in acquiring language skills, compared to reading books. This can be further seen in the fact that TV with sound effects has the ability to help watchers sharpen their listening and speaking skills effectively, thereby improving their language comprehension. Perhaps the best example of this is Khanh Vy, who is one of the most well-known adolescents in Viet Nam at the moment thanks to her linguistic ability. She is a dazzling polyglot and fluent in six languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, French, Italian and German. Last year, in an interview with Forbes, she confessed that she spend about 5 hours on watching movies in foreign languages without subtitles daily, and she believed that it is the most efficient approach for people, especially the young ones, to learn new languages. In conclusion, it seems to me that people should read books in order to develop imagination and linguistic abilities instead of watching TV due to the above-mentioned two reasons.