Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalization has bolstered the trend of teaching children multiple languages, the idea of teaching children a foreign language in primary school, as compared to teaching it in secondary school have always locked horns. I would delineate, how the former idea has more benefits than the latter, with the help of the examples and a study from Oxford University. To begin with, children in early age, can learn much faster than when they grow up. A study from Oxford university showed that children below the age 10, picks up new language almost 3 times as faster than children above 10. Concurrently, in this modern era, people keep moving to multiple countries for various reasons and learning a foreign language can be beneficial in such scenarios. Also, it enables the children to communicate and understand other children from various cultures and communities. Thus, from the above points we can see that learning a foreign language in primary school would be easier and beneficial. But on the other hand, learning a foreign language in primary school also has some cons. For instance, at early ages, some children are struggling to learn simple terms and introducing a foreign language in the mix, could add up to their struggle. Also few children at their early ages may have mental challenges such as dyslexia, which takes them more time for them to learn new things initially, but it can be addressed by the time they reach secondary school. Although we can see evident challenges in learning a foreign language during primary school, it can be addressed with meticulous guidance and attention. In conclusion, I would like to say, the disadvantages of learning a new language in primary school, can be resolved with proper individual training and attention, in turn enabling the advantages to outgrow and helping the children grow in the multilingual world.