In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The latest tendency among school graduates in a number of countries to get knowledge at the workplace is growing in popularity. While some people argue that classic education is the best way to prepare students for their future jobs others claim that an apprenticeship or similar approach is more efficient for them. This essay will first look at the arguments for work-based methods before turning to those against them. The main advantage of pieces of training at the workplace is the fact that all the theories there are directly related to the skill set that is crucial to perform the job well. For instance, for some jobs, it is more valuable to move to the practice first with the real equipment examples and sequentially switch to the theoretical base. Consequently, it helps students to better understand the subject as well as the requirements for the particular occupation. On the other hand, the work-based approach focuses only on the required knowledge for the job execution. A good example of this point could be any apprenticeship program, where you probably is getting knowledge only related to a specific business process or technology. So, it is becoming an issue when people decide to change their occupation and do not have a base theory for a new application. In conclusion, a number of graduates from many countries choose an employer as the main place to get knowledge after high school for their future occupation. The methodology suggests focusing on the skills and knowledge which are critical for the industry and the position, although it becomes a drawback when a person decides to change occupation. Personally, I would say that for some jobs the apprenticeship is the best way to start a professional career, even if it is a little narrowed by the employer.