Many students take part-time jobs while studying in universities. Is this a bad or good idea?

Nowadays the majority of the students work part-time along with tertiary education. In my opinion, this is a positive trend as it is beneficial for the overall growth of an individual. The primary advantage of part-time job is that students become self-dependent. As we know that higher education costs a fortune and not everyone can afford it, therefore, it is certainly a good idea for the students to earn some money through part-time work to support their educational expenses. In this way, they can reduce the financial burden from their parents' shoulders. For instance, the students of London university admitted that they would not have completed their master's degree if they had not worked part-time. Another positive aspect of accepting part-time jobs while studying at the university is that the aspiring minds learn essential life-skills. Part-time employment offers early exposure to work -life and makes students efficient for future jobs, where such qualities are valued. For instance, pupils learn the value of money and to work on discipline when they have to follow certain guidelines at work and manage their budget. In addition to this, the experienced gained from part-time work make them competitive in the job market. As some employers prefer to hire candidates with related work experience, it opens up further opportunities for such students. To conclude, it is a valuable experience for the students to take up part-time jobs during university education because they get an opportunity to become more rounded as a person and earn some income to bear the burden of their educational expenses. By considering all these aspects, it is certainly a positive development and parents should encourage their children to do so.