Some think that parents reading books for entertainment to their children is a waste of time and they should only read them serious educational books. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, reading books to children's parents is becoming an increasingly popular way to encourage learning among children. However, some people argue that entertainment books are less beneficial as compared to educational books. I disagree with this because entertainment books are not only able to improve language skills but could also instil moral values in children, and I will discuss these further below. Firstly, entertainment books are good for children ’s language development. By this, we mean that fables and fictional stories are not only interesting to listen to but also contain linguistic elements that may help to improve children's language ability. Consequently, by listening to these stories, children can further enhance their vocabulary. In addition, entertainment stories portray moral values such as honesty and kindness that could positively affect psychological development. Finally, these stories often use fantasy to inspire children ’s imagination and creativity. For instance, a fantasy storybook entitled Charlotte's Web was adapted into cartoons and real action films and became a source of inspiration for young children worldwide. Turning to the next point, educational books are useful for imparting knowledge to children. It has become a trend now for authors to write books that explain complicated science concepts in simple ways, making them easy to grasp by young brains. Furthermore, educational books trigger greater thinking ability among children which is useful in the learning process. In summary, although educational books might bring clear benefits to young children, focusing exclusively on serious educational content might lead to boredom and disengagement, negatively affecting the child’s overall learning experience. Entertainment books seem to influence children's language ability, positive attitude, and creativity. Both types of books are crucial for young children's development, and it is up to parents to balance between these two choices