In the past, people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Nowadays, most cities and villages have vital public utilities, such as electricity, water, and gas; hence, people can live almost everywhere. However, in the past, there were several places where people could settle. So, rather than living far from people and searching for new opportunities, they used to gather together, making a small community and living together in a so-called small village. There were definitely some advantages. For example, people who lived in a place which is not populated, knew each other well. This meant that when someone needed help, could easily count on many people. In my opinion, this had led to strong relationships compared with todays modern relationships. It is clear that with the growing popularity of social media, people are less in contact with each other. On the other hand, like any other issues, there were some drawbacks which made people leave small villages. I believe, people always have a great eagerness to search for new opportunities. To set an example, there are always going to be more job opportunities in big cities rather than small villages. Having a better job with higher salary means a better life in most cases. In conclusion, there were some reasons why people had to live in small villages in the past. For instance, people could not live wherever they wanted, because resources like water were not available everywhere. Thus, people had to overcome such problems together and they had stronger relationships compared with people living in modern cities. However, lack of improved facilities was one of the main setbacks of living in a village.