Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In recent years, the approach of computers as an integral part of the education system is quite common over the alternative of theoretical knowledge. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such an approach. To begin with the positive, a crucial advantage that computer based education is practical learning. This is because computer based lecture emphasizes on audio visuals which is better for understanding. For example, students, who usually get bored in a normal lecture, tend to be more attentive in an intuitive presentation or a video. Not only this, but the internet has become an essential part of self learning for students, who used to only rely on limited study material, can now access an infinite number of books available online. However, internet and computer based education has also presented some disadvantages, the most obvious of which is the attraction towards video games. Although it is still possible for some students to maintain good academics, these diversions can lead to poor performance as a consequence. For instance, according to the recent survey, more than 30% of the students face academic issues due to more focus towards games and internet. Another significant disadvantage of this system is the illegal activities and hacking which some students get indulged in very easily as they are not mature enough to understand the depth of these issues. In conclusion, despite the benefits of practical understanding and widening the availability of the study materials, the drawbacks of video games and illegal activities should also be taken into consideration.