It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is commonly believed by some that are essential for high school students to live outside their parental habitations. I partially agree with this argument. Whereas this essay discusses social independence and maturity as a merit of this idea, it is widely accepted that the lack of parental oversight can adversely affect students’ education. Undeniably, second cycle students, who are largely adolescents, learn some positive social values when they live outside the scope of their mothers and fathers. Firstly, the students can socialize with other students from different backgrounds; hence, they adopt some positive social ethics for their future social life. Besides, they become used to managing their finances efficiently. In other words, students learn to use limited resources as they live independently outside their comfort zones; so, they become adjusted to the culture of prioritising needs economically. Nonetheless, the potential set-backs of such a development are not far-fetched. To begin with, most students lose focus on their education, which is the primary motive of their stay in dormitories. To further explain, students who live outside their parents watch hardly concentrate on their studies due to the many forms of entertainments they are exposed to. This form of lure is usually augmented by their peers, who are at most times of equal age with them; therefore, they are easily convinced. For instance, in Durban, 78% of teens who abandoned schooling were those who lived outside their parents’ tent. Moreover, the lack of parental help, guidance, and control concerning this phenomenon cannot be overlooked as parental help is integral in their ward's education. In the absence of parental support, most students lose self-esteem since they need this form of support to study effectively. In conclusion, the intercultural ethical maturity, high school students gain outside their parents' homes cannot be refuted; nevertheless, there may be a devastating impact on the student's attention to studies, as well as the overall morale to learn.