The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

I agree with the assertion that the population of people being overweight is putting too much stress on the Federal health care system and it will only get worse as World Health Organisation (WHO) predicts that the percentage of the people with obesity will keep increasing and this in turn will have a negative effect on the effectiveness of the health care delivery in the country. While the introduction of more physical education lessons and tasks in the school curriculum can go a long way to address this problem, other programs like diet control and outdoor exercise can help to bring down the percentage of people living with obesity in the country. As the country makes advances in technology, children and adults spend more time indoors than outdoors which in turn means there is a low participation of people doing outdoor exercises. Also, many activities that would have been done manually in the home, work and in school are now being replaced by technology and this translates to making people get lazy. In conclusion, while the introduction of physical education is necessary in schools to address this epidemic, care should be taken to make sure the curriculum is tailored to meet the modern day society we now live in so that it can be very effective both in the short term as to address the stress in the system and the healthy benefits of the population in the long run.