In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

Nowadays, the altering of the structure of a family and the responsibility its members have been receiving a great deal of public attention. There are some important changes that have taken place and I believe that these changes would have both benefits and drawbacks. Families at present have undergone two main differences compared to the past. In terms of family size, since the cost of living has risen considerably and this prevents people from having too many children, the number of members in modern families is less and less. In fact, these days, nuclear families and one-person households are becoming increasingly popular instead of the previous family structures which three or four generations lived under the same roof a few decades ago. Regarding the responsibility of family members, by having more opportunities to gain qualifications and pursue their own careers, no longer do present time women have to take care only the job of homemaker. This means that, there is not only man, but also women could take the role of primary breadwinner, therefore family financial burdens are now shared by both fathers and mothers. In my opinion, those changes would have positive as well as negative consequences. The major benefit is children of small families are given better education opportunities. Many children have the chance to study abroad and gain international qualifications, which would ensure them a better job after graduation. However, working parents are now too busy to take care of their offspring. Without parental care and guidance, children may suffer from various problems, ranging from autism to bad behaviours. Some children even engage in criminal activities such as illegal drug use or unlawful gambling which may ruin their future. In conclusion, there are several changes in family structure and role of its members and I would argue that these changes are both beneficial and detrimental.