With wonderful developments in medicine, life expectancy has increased by 30% in the last 50 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of living longer lives?

Nowadays, with the massive increase in medical technology, people argue about whether living a longer time is a good thing or not. There are some important benefits, such as spending more time with family. Nevertheless, there are also the negative aspects, such as suffering from multiple medical conditions, to be taken into consideration before deciding which point of view weighs more than the other. There are many advantages of being alive to a long age, the most important of which is that old people gain the opportunity to spend more time with their families, whereas people of mid-range age do not. It is common knowledge that people who live a long life have spent much more time with their families. This is mainly because of the lack of responsibilities they have at that age, Besides, they will probably be retired, along with doing nothing but watching their babies grow up. As a result of this, old people will have the chance to see their children’s children grow up. In other words, they will see their grandchildren, which is a gift from God that not everyone can receive. However, on the other hand, the greatest drawback of living to an advanced age is that you will be easily injured by a massive number of various diseases. We often hear from doctors that as a person grows older, the more diseases they will have. For instance, when a teenager catches a cold, it may affect him for a couple of days, and it will be gone, whereas when an old person catches a disease, it will likely have a huge impact on him, at least a way greater impact than on the young man. In conclusion, personally, I firmly believe that the upsides of living a long age are definitely greater than the downsides, because spending good time with family and living to see your grandchildren are extremely important, whereas everyone will struggle with their health at some point in life.