Write about the following topic: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The upbringing of children must be done in the right way as they are more likely to adopt that habit and carry it forward in their lives. Children must be taught to have a sense of competition as well as to co-operate with others. The understanding of both the senses must be built clearly amongst children in order to help them utilize the sense better when needed. Don’t you think people should consider both of them, simultaneously? A sense of competition shall be built and encouraged in children as it makes them push their limits and win the situation. It also makes them a quick learner which is beneficial for them. A child, when taught with competitive skills, tends to utilize his brains faster and act responsively in different situations. In this sense, the child remains focused on what to achieve and what are the ways that will get him/her through that situation. Therefore, it should be encouraged in a way that it benefits the child rather make him/her feel envious of other children’s success. However, children should also be taught with co-operative skills as it builds their sense of respect, caring and sharing. It is said that children learn from their elders, so they must respect others and set examples by themselves for their kids. Children who possess a co-operative sense doesn’t mean that they can’t be competitive or they are not competitive, but a combination of both would apparently make them a better human. To conclude, I would say that parents should focus on building both the sets of senses in their children as it makes them learn and respect others at the same time. They should not let them have a negative competitive mindset which can be harmful to them in adulthood, nor they should possess only co-operative sense as it will make them less productive.