Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there have been so much money spent to repair old buildings. But I think instead of repairing them, they should be broken & new buildings should be built. There is a clear evidence that day by day so many buildings are turning into abandoned wastages in city areas which are causing harm to the environment of the places. Moreover, many people are living in those old buildings & that is risking their life severely. To keep them risk-free at a minimum rate, the building owners are somehow initiating some construction works to repair those buildings. But such a temporary step can never be a perfect solution to the main problem. As there is a chance that outworn buildings might face major collapses anytime without giving any pre-notice. That will lead to a massive accident. Such an issue can be solved by building new ones rather than repairing the old ones. The repairing process of old buildings will waste a lot of money & cause huge environmental pollution as well. Mostly that step won't bring in any positive outcome. On the other hand, new buildings can provide enough security to the people living there. Furthermore, that will turn into a permanent solution to the dwelling situation of many people. Money will be properly utilized in that process too. Additionally, there have been so many modern architectural innovations taken place in the modern world. The new buildings can get the touch of such innovation & become a significant piece of beauty. To summarize, repairing old buildings instead of building new ones doesn't look like a good idea at all. Therefore, I personally believe building new ones are a better approach than repairing the old ones.