Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are places of attractions and interests for many tourists and even local inhabitants. In general, these buildings hold many important regarding and works of arts of many famous individuals. While various museums require an entry fee, others are free of cost. There are quite a few benefits and drawbacks of charging people, and I will discuss them now. Firstly, charging for admission in museums might not be well received by visitors. Indeed, if they are free, they will attract even more visitors because they would not have to spend money. For instance, the famous Louvre Museum in Paris is one of the major reasons people visit Paris, besides the Eiffel Tower, and if the museum was to be free, the number of tourists would have escalated. Moreover, some museums have exorbitant fees and this only discourages tourists. A further disadvantage of charging money would be that many times, visitors find themselves waiting in long queues for their turn to pay and when they are finally inside, it is overcrowded with people and they don’t feel comfortable and hence, they cannot enjoy their visit nor learn from the expositions. However, there are many advantages for charging people. Indeed, the money received could be used to maintain the museum and clean the place often to make it a worthwhile visit by tourists. The latter may not mind paying a small entry fee since usually their aim is to know more about the history of the country they are visiting. Furthermore, charging people for admissions might boost the economy of the country and the money collected could be invested in improving many other infrastructures and places of interests, and this will attract even more tourists. Additionally, guided tours can be included when the museum is receiving a continuous revenue in terms of admission fee. In conclusion, I strongly believe that museums should charge for admissions provided that the price is not exorbitant. This will help improve the economy and many places, maintain the museum in a good state and provide the service of guides.