Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

The death penalty is a very sensitive subject for many people in today's society. While many believe that capital punishment should be given to those who committed violent crimes, the rest of the population does not accept it as a suitable punishment in a modern society. Personally, I believe that the death penalty is not only cruel and inhumane, it actually leads to criminals acting more violently when being pursued by law enforcement, resulting in more casualties. The most common argument from people who think that it is advantageous to have the death penalty is that it serves justice for victims who get killed in an act of crime. Ultimately, this group of people often believes that "an eye for an eye" is the basis of good justice. Occasionally, people would suggest that getting rid of serious criminals with the death penalty would save the government money long term because they do not need to build and maintain high security prisons to keep these high-risk offenders locked up. There are numerous disadvantages for having a death penalty in our society. The most obvious counter argument for it is the belief that taking someone's life away is never a solution under any circumstances. Particularly, for religious people, it is believed that only God has control over people's life. No human being should be granted such a power. More importantly, our legal system is not perfect, meaning that its judgement is not always flawless. Unfortunately, many cases of wrongful convictions in the past have been well documented. Finally, it would be a major tragedy to sentence to a death penalty only to find out later that the same person did not commit the crime as accused. In conclusion, I believe that capital punishment should not be allowed in our society. Human life is very precious, therefore it should always be preserved. Although people may have committed serious crimes, they should be treated humanely and given a second chance.