Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and peoms. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

One of the most controversial topics today on high school education relates to whether studying literature is unnecessary or not. In this essay, I elaborate on the reasons why I strongly oppose this perspective from the viewpoint of the importance of learning own language and improving relationship with others. One of the positive consequences of learning literature in high school is deepening their understanding of their language. Unlike basic literature studied at junior school, the one taught in high school is by far advanced, and it allows students to increase their vocabulary, expressions, and advanced grammar. They can also learn their culture through literature. When they study a foreign language and compare it with their mother tongue, they will be able to obtain more profound knowledge on them from the cultural aspects. Another advantage of studying literature in high school is that they can improve their social skills. As students can have moc experiences through reading novels, they are likely to presume a result in the similar situation in the furure. It will be enhanced when they have a discussion with others. Additionally, they can enhance their personalities. Through learning a poem, since they will be able to assume how others feel and how they respond to it, they will be equipped with empathy. As a result, they can prepare themselves before starting to work. In conclusion, although some argue that spending time in studying literature in high school is in vain, I disagree with this opinion. I vehemently believe that it expands their horizon and enriches their emotions. Therefore, I think that it should be a compulsory subject for high school students.