Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children. DO you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that young children should use the computer every day, others, however, think it has more disadvantages than advantages for young boys and girls` development. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay, I will explain why. On the one hand, those who support the use of computers claim that they keep children entertained for long periods and consequently do not require their parent’s attention. In this manner, when kids play computer games their carers can do other activities rather than interacting with them. Another positive effect is that children learn a lot from these computer games or programs. There are, for example, language teaching videos with songs and colourful drawings available online which can enhance their knowledge from early ages. On the other hand, young boys and girls suffer from many negative effects because of this. In the first place, they have more sedentary lifestyles leading to more obesity and weight-related diseases, namely, diabetes and high blood pressure. Sports and outdoor activities are less practised because they prefer computer -related activities. Another disadvantage to bear in mind is that creativity is seriously affected due to the fact that they read fewer books and play fewer board games. Social skills are also significantly harmed as children do not interact with adults, friends or peers as much as they should do. In conclusion, some people believe that children should use the computer on a daily basis because they get easily entertained and taught. I, however, think there are several drawbacks to take into account, such as sedentary lifestyle related diseases, socialization and creativity difficulties. Therefore, parents and teachers should limit the amount of time spent on these technological devices.