International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is a concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

It is undeniable that, foreign travel is a growing industry these days. Some people believe that, this growth has brought a positive change to many places. While, others argue that, its negative impact on both the people and environment outweighs the benefits. However, this has more benefits than the drawbacks as discussed below. On one hand, it is seen that, the increase in travel worldwide effects not only the local people but the surroundings too. For example, with more and more tourists in a place, it is unfortunately the natives who take the toll. This is because in order to provide proper facilities to the visitors, the residents of the area get deprived of the basic needs of water and food, due to a limited number of sources, only able to fulfil the needs of the tourists. Moreover, pollution is also a big concern with increasing number of people gathering at places like beaches, museums and parks. The likelihood of these scenic places to get filled up with trash increases. In contrast, the vast advancement in tourism, has tremendously boosted the economy of certain under-developed countries. For instance, tourism is one of the major sources of income of countries like Brazil, Pakistan and Indonesia. Furthermore, with several different people visiting various countries, the chance of publicity and promotion of their traditions and culture increases. This aids in the recognition and identification of their heritage worldwide. This attracts more people to those spots and the cycle continues. To conclude, although the hazards of tourism in the form of consumption of facilities and pollution do exist. However, the benefits offered by foreign travel like growth and development of countries, largely outweigh the disadvantages.