In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

In sports culture, there is a constant pressure of performance and in recent years it has been observed that many athletes consume banned substances to enhance their performance to win. To solve this issue, it is necessary to establish measures such as acknowledgment of mental health and restrictive laws on illegal substances. To begin with, proponents of the consumption of illegal drugs are observed to be beneficial for athletes as they provide an instant boost to their energy. Sports practises are commonly associated with health, but when practised professionally athletes face constant pressure to present winning results. Hence, exhausting training requires supplements to keep up with the routine. Additionally, in some sports such as CrossFit and bodybuilding, they use supplements to improve performance, as a result, there is a rise in the number of sportive people using banned substances. On the contrary, scientists have created healthier alternatives that are safe for athletes, and banned products promise faster results; However, they can be strongly detrimental to humans. To deal with this issue, the government should take some serious steps, involving restrictive laws on illegal supplements and awareness of the side effects of these products. Moreover, there should be debates and awareness on these issues and the drawbacks of consumption. To conclude, from the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that the constant pressure of winning can be exhausting for athletes; However, they should follow a healthier approach and lifestyles, and there should be proper awareness of the disadvantages of restrictive drugs.