Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however , say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of people believes that by adding more sports facilities in the community, it will increase the public awareness about a healthy lifestyle. On the contrary, others think that the idea is ineffective and they believe that there are other ways which are more effective and efficient. The following essay will discuss in details about the two statements. On the one hand, some people think that the best solution for improving public health is by providing a lot of sports facilities in the society. The existence of jogging track facilities, athletic fields, basketball hall or football ground in residential areas would trigger the residents in doing some exercises. With the increasing number of people who do physical exercises, it is expected that the rate of several diseases which are caused by unhealthy lifestyles, such as diabetics, heart attack or obesity would be reduced. Consequently, public health expenditures would be declined and could be allocated for other important aspects such as education or public transportation. On the other hand, another group of people believes that building some sports facilities in the community would not be effective without health education campaigns. It is undeniable that health campaign is an essential matter since it is important to open the mind of the public about having a healthy lifestyle. The campaign should be well prepared, socialised properly and implemented thoroughly, therefore, the public will get the awareness about healthy lifestyles. Once people realise about the lifestyles, then they would utilise the sports facilities that have been built by the Government. In conclusion, several people think that adding more sports facilities in the neighbourhood would improve the public health, but others believe that it would only have a small effect. There are other things that should also be prepared besides building the facilities. In my opinion, I do believe that building some sports facilities in residential areas should be aligned with health education campaigns, therefore, the facilities would be utilised by the public.