People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this positive or negative development.

In today’s world, many people choose to interact online instead of face-to-face. This shift is based on convenience, accessibility and the ability to connect with anyone from anywhere. Despite all these traits, there are still some downsides related to interacting online, such as hindering social skills and negative effects on mental health. One of the greatest reasons for the rise in online interactions is convenience. With the click of a button, people can do anything, like shop for groceries, interact with friends and so on. Interacting online also gives individuals more anonymity, resulting in them being more confident to express themselves and share their beliefs. However, despite the many benefits of online interaction, there are concerns about its negative impact on the social skills and mental well-being of an individual. Online communication and experiences can create unrealistic expectations and insecurities in people who compare themselves to others on social media. Excessive digital communication can really dampen one’s ability to interact face-to-face and that of course, is a big problem. Being on your device 24/7 is also terrible for your health in many other ways. In conclusion, I think the ability to connect with others online is a great one, but as with all things in life, it requires balance. One must find the balance between online interactions and physical communication because both are equally important (by today’s standards) for a healthy, functioning and modern society.