Corporal punishment should be banned in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

Educational approaches have provoked heated debates for decades. Some people would encourage physical punishment at school as they believe it could do wonders for students. Nevertheless, others would argue that this approach can have various negative effects on pupils. Personally, I completely agree that corporal punishment should be prohibited and replaced by different methods. Firstly, corporal punishment is believed to have adverse effects on education. Hitting or smacking students can force them to comply with regulations for a short time due to angst; however, when encountering in the long term, they may rebel and become mischievous. Furthermore, this kind of punishment can spoil the relationship between teachers and students. Consequently, it creates an oppressive atmosphere in classrooms, which will reduce the effectiveness of schooling. Secondly, physical punishment is likely to cause mental issues for pupils. Being exposed to violence at high frequency may lead to the belief that violence is the most effective way to solve an issue. Therefore, they will commit assaults in the future. Additionally, disciplining by thrashing or whipping results in a fear of schools and teachers, which means that they can lose interest in studying. More seriously, children may suffer from panic attacks and anxiety disorders. In conclusion, corporal punishment causes considerable harms to students, hence schools should eliminate this method. My view is that teachers should make good friends with students, and they can have an intimate talk to address the problems.