Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research is necessary for the development of human. Some people believe that it should be conducted and monitored by the governments instead of private organizations. This essay disagrees with the claim for two main reasons: governments lack manpower to carry out various types of scientific research and governments are not financially capable of investing equal amounts of resources in each single matter either. Governments that want to do and control scientific research themselves must acquire a large enough number of qualified scientists to carry out researches on tons of different topics, which is unrealistic and impossible. Meanwhile, at other private companies, scientists are hired to only focus on researching and making new discoveries about certain matters. For instance, Novo Nordisk from Switzerland is a private scientific company that concentrates on diabetes type 2 and haemophilia research, and has successfully helped treat more than 20 million patients around the world, which shows the pivotal role of private institutions in scientific research. On top of that, scientific research is costly and longitudinal, thus, requires huge investments; governments are unable to finance all scientific research projects because there are many more matters they have to deal with. A new drug development may take up to 30 years and millions of dollars while governments have limited resources, mainly derived from national taxes for different purposes: education, health care, infrastructure etc. In contrast, private institutions can raise funds for a particular matter more easily with private investors and stock holders. For example, Oxford Vacmedix was able to close a 12-million series A funding solely for cancer vaccine research. Substantial funding for such a specific matter cannot be obtained from governments. It is, in the end, reasonable to conclude that governments should not have the total execution and control of scientific research and private firms’ participation is necessary