Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

While many feel that increasing fuel prices is the only way to reduce consumption, this is more of an opinion than a fact. In this essay, I’m going to share a core reason why increasing prices alone will not reduce the pressure on the world’s fuel resources and a few alternatives to reduce consumption. The primary reason why increasing prices will not work is because fossil fuels are integral to the growth aspirations of a country and the masses will continue to afford key resources like fuel that helps the economy grow. This can be validated historically when, despite the steep rise in fuel prices since 1960, the consumption has only increased. Expecting consumption to reduce by trying to hike the prices is like expecting the world to stop drinking water by increasing its price. The second reason why the demand for fossil fuels will not reduce is because there is no other suitable alternative. Solar, wind, thermal and nuclear power is still not able to meet the demands of the growing countries. In the absence of a good alternative energy source, fossil fuels will continue to remain in popular demand. However, all is not lost. The sentiment to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels is well received and there are ways to reduce our consumption of this precious and finite resource. The first method is through mass education. Fossil fuels are the primary reason for air pollution and there is significant evidence that this is depleting our Ozone layer. Informing people about the long term damaging effects of the prolonged fossil fuel usage on human health are the way to go. Awareness can stimulate action. Improving public transport is another way for the public to reduce using fossil fuels. In summary, fossil fuels are a rare and precious commodity, but it is also the only commodity that many nations have to grow. We must avoid simplifying the answer and come up with creative ideas if we are going to really reduce the consumption of fossil fuels.