Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Due to the modern society, many people hold a belief that students should study subjects to pass examinations rather than gaining life skills, such as dress up or cookery. To my point of view, I strongly disagree with that idea because of these following reasons. First of all, much of the knowledge related to academic subjects can only use to pass an examination or complete school tests but can not practical application. For example, in Vietnam, students have to learn many complex math equations in school which cannot be applied in daily life but can only be used for passing exams. Secondly, gain living skills provide them self-confident and well-rounded. For instance, when college teenagers live far from family, they will be able to take care of themselves if they are equipped such skills. Since they can prepare healthy and affordable meals independently, they do not need to buy food outside which can contain a lot of fat and sugar. Also, they can choose suitable outfits to make a positive impression on potential employers when attending an interview or make themselves attractive when taking part in a party. Attending skill-building classes at school is also an effective way for students to unwind after many hours of studying academic subjects. Through a wide range of activities, students are able to relax and as a result perform better in exams. Therefore, I believe that skills such as cooking and dressing should be included as a compulsory part of the school curriculum. In conclusion, although academic knowledge is important to pass exams, soft skills courses are not less crucial. So I believed that, life skills must also be included in school activities.