These days people in some countries are living in a “throwaway” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are its causes and what impacts can it have?

In this day and age, the intense rate of change in the world gives rise to numerous new products. Unfortunately, this also encourages people to throw away their old but useful items regardless of whether or not they still work. This essay will present the reason why this trend has a negative impact on human beings and the environment. To begin with, in today’s digital world, it is believed that irresistible advertisements are the root of the problem| are deemed the root of the phenomenon. Advertising has been defined as one of the most powerful, manipulate and persuasive tools for manufacturers to persuade customers to purchase new products that they really do not even need. The brand new and state of the art one year is quickly relegated to old model’ status the next such as laptops and smartphones. Although it would have the same function as the previous model, many people spend their money buying this new one to show their wealth and fashion. Thus, these old items might be disposed. The throw-away lifestyle has posed a detrimental threat to both individuals and our environment. Firstly, workers involved in the disposed high-tech devices may be affected by blood diseases and cancers, because most of these devices are a complicated assembly of hundreds of different materials which are highly toxic. This leads to environmental degradation since huge amounts of hazardous waste are being discharged into the environment. Finally, the rise of single-use and short-lived items is also contributing to the factor. The more the products are thrown away, the more garbage is produced. These non-recyclable items will remain in the soil forever. In conclusion, the emergence of throw-away has caused many negative impacts on our society; therefore, this practice needs to be discouraged. The governments should implement certain regulations controlling the production and disposal of these throw-away goods and encourage producers to integrate an increasing quantity of recycled material in any new products they produce.