People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasing early stage. Discuss the causes and some effects of the widespread drug use by young people. Give some recommendations that can be implemented.

It is a known fact that most people use drugs. However, an increasing number of youths are involved with medicine misuse these days. This has almost become an epidemic situation in the world. Firstly, youthful exuberance is a major cause of medicine misuse. This can take the form of peer pressure, curiosity and self esteem issues. Youths want to experiment with everything and they fear being rejected by their peers or seen as not measuring up to some ridiculous standard. For instance, the regular cough syrup may be abused in an effort to get high. Some youths are simply interested in knowing how cocaine tastes and make them feel. Most of them are bent on taking drugs to proof to their peers they can do it. This may lead to serious health problems, abnormal heart rates, heart attacks, lung issues, land them in problems with the law or even result in death. There has been quite a number of overdose cases in the past years and this is still on the increase. There are some effective solutions to this problem. One way to tackle this would be to regulate drugs available for sale in pharmaceutical companies. Anyone that needs to get some certain drugs will need to have a doctor's prescription. Also, they should be sold in small quantities so that they will not be abused. For example, the prescription of pain killers and syrups should be monitored closely. In addition, to forestall the misuse of drugs among youths, schools should give lectures consistently on the implications of the offence. Students can be taken to rehabilitation centres once in a while to speak with some addicts. Thereby giving them a better perspective on the repercussion of this misconduct. In conclusion, parents, wards and the government have to be more proactive in solving the issue. If schools and the government implement these solutions, this crime will be reduced to the barest minimum.