Many students choose to attend schools or universities outside their home countries. Why do some students study abroad?

Malcolm X, one of the most prominent activists of the Civil Rights Movement in the U.S., once remarked that education is our passport to the future. That is to say, education or edification, per se, has made us what we are, master of the universe. Furthermore, education has known no boundaries, ranging from academic skills to personal development. Admitting that it is a matter of relativity what we consider the purpose of studying abroad, the answer varies from person to person, depending on the value systems or the mindsets. All in all, I believe that there are two significant reasons as follows. First and foremost, I reckon that one of the primary reasons that international students choose to study abroad is to master other languages. With globalization, the demand for people who can speak other languages has increased. To adjust to this demand, some people decide to study in a country where the language is spoken, as research shows that living with native people is one of the most effective ways to learn a new language. Secondly, but not less importantly, living and studying in other countries allows students to expand their horizons. Many students seek to experience new cultures and ways of thinking, which can lead to personal growth and new opportunities. For example, when I stayed in New York to attend an internship program, I could touch diverse cultures and perspectives I had never seen. As a result, I could identify another future career path that I was really interested in. In conclusion, study abroad offers us a big impact that can change our life. In this essay, I highlight mastering language and expanding our perspectives through studying abroad. Although living in another country presents many challenges, overcoming these difficulties makes us feel confident and opens doors to future success. That is my view.