People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleepless? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

Sleep is a very crucial part of life for every person, however, because of the busy lifestyle, modern people tend to sleep less than previous generations. This essay will explain why nowadays society gets fewer hours for sleeping and which consequences would be because of this tendency. Around the world, people sleep less than 6 hours than in the 20th century. One of the major causes of the preference to sleep less is making money. More often each person may hear the popular phrase "the time is money" which means that the more time you spend on earning money, the richer you can be. For instance, this is a well-known fact that we should sleep for at least 8 hours a day, in contrast, modern people increase their working hours and decrease the leisure hours. Additionally, the environment of continuous competitiveness and consumerism may exacerbate the problem. In spite of increasing the people's productivity, sleeplessness bears some serious for health consequences. Apathy, tiredness and fatigue always follows after it and, also, the immune system becomes less stable and decreases behind the viral diseases. After a long time of sleeplessness the person as capable to work employee becomes more oblivious and nervous, it exactly influences on his or her quality of work and relationships between staff. To conclude, the nowadays circumstances like overworking and rat racing for wealth may lead sleeplessness and its unhealthy effects. In its result, people exhaust themselves physically and emotionally that can affect on the business life and the mood in society.