Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to work from home instead of commuting to an office every day. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is no denying the fact that online working has become globally popular and it is preferred by many people. While it is many believe that it is a positive change, others oppose this view. In my opinion, this development has several negative impacts, which will discuss in this essay. To begin with, working online from home can lead people to work for long hours, which places an intense work burden on them. In other words, a traditional way of work is limited by a specific time, so work ends when people leave the office, whereas remote work does not offer that. Moreover, that might result in losing the ability to find a balance between personal and work life, affecting individuals’ ability to control their lives. For example, many studies have found that one of the significant problems faced by online employees is an unstable life, resulting from a lack of balance. Another point to consider is the decrease in interpersonal skills that people working online may experience. Furthermore, individuals may become less sociable, losing their ability to ineract with face to face. Additionally, this can result in the emergence of psychological issues, such as feelings of depression or anxiety. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, many people suffered from depression or anxiety because they were isolated from others, similar to the experience of working online. In conclusion, there are several causes that lead to considering remote working as a negative change, including the increase in working hours, the loss of the work -life balance and social skills, and the emergence of psychological issues. Therefore, I firmly believe it is a negative development.