It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is becoming a popular culture among students these days to take a gap year, which is a period that they take after finishing school and before starting college to take up a job or visit foreign countries. This essay will first discuss how a time off can help them find their passion, which is an important advantage, followed by how some of them lose the motivation to continue their studies, which is a big disadvantage. The benefit of taking some time off from studies is that students can explore various possibilities and find their interests. They can learn about many different areas of work and even try working in various fields. This can help them choose the best suited career, which in turn will make them successful in the future. For example, When I took a term off after school, I took an internship at a software company which made me realize that this field is most appropriate for me to build a career in. On the downside, a big disadvantage of this is that in some people, the idea to pursue education is lost due to a steady flow of income. When they feel that they can pay for their needs, they think that enrolling in higher studies is unnecessary. Hence they end up not furthering their education and gets stuck without educational specialization, which is extremely detrimental to their financial well-being. For instance, a recent survey published in the Times newspaper said that several Walmart employees are students who took the job in their gap year, but never got back to school in order to keep the steady income flowing. To sum up, a break in studies can help students introspect and choose the best path forward. However, it should be carefully considered so that it does not lead to the aversion from the need to pursue higher education.