In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are some nations where judicial proceedings of criminal cases are televised. This essay shall first discuss the benefits of this in the sense that it builds public trust, followed by a problem that it causes around the peace and harmony of the region. Publicly televised cases of crimes increases the transparency of the courtrooms. Instead of closed door trials, where people have no clue about what the lawyers are saying, open forums enables them to hear both the sides of the argument. This impedes the second hand information being passed to the general public which in turn increases their trust in the justice system. For example, In USA people believe that the public hearing of senator's confirmation has increased their faith in the authorities. On the downside, a disadvantage of having open hearings is that people may sometimes disagree with the ruling. Because of this, their resentment towards courts grows and they lose respect of the lawyers and the judges. Additionally, when the public does not agree with the court's decision, it can also lead to protests which can cause civil disobedience and unrest. For instance, televised decision in a murder case in North Carolina caused a widespread protest last year. To sum up, although having the public listen in on the dealings inside the court help grow a more transparent system, it also can be potentially dangerous to the peace in the community. In my opinion the benefits that an open door hearing provides is much less appealing due to the grave danger it poses to the community.