More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, the number of international students is increasing significantly. There are many benefits to studying overseas as well as drawbacks. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of studying overseas. Firstly, individuals could find better educational opportunities studying abroad as there are many different options in other countries. For instance, there are not many majors available to study in Kuwait hence why most students leave elsewhere to study. Additionally, there are better universities in other countries where people could perform well. For example, Harvard University in the USA is seen to be the most suitable place to learn as it has advanced teaching systems and tools. However, it is not always a good idea to study abroad. On the other hand, foreign students may face many challenges such as language barriers, cultural shock and finding accommodation. This causes major problems as students are distracted and cannot focus on their studies. When moving to another country, individuals may not be able to speak or understand a foreign langauage and, therefore, find difficulties communicating with others. This could result in slow academic progress and less productivity in class. For example, in the UK, a recent study shows that over half of sponsored Malaysian students have returned one year after leaving their country as they were not able to pass their courses since they have found difficulties in studying English-written subjects. Furthermore, looking for accommodation may be an issue since most students cannot afford to pay high rent. For example, in Australia, there have been many complaints by international pupils regarding the cost of rent in certain areas. In conclusion, it is clear that the benefits do not outweigh the drawbacks. Despite having better opportunities studying abroad, there may be tough challenges to face and overcome such as communication issues and finding accommodation.