People think that countries should produce food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that food production should be proportional to the population demand, and countries should minimize their import practices. From my perspective, I agree with this opinion due to its positive influences on the environment and the local economy. On the one hand, I agree that importing less food can bring about some certain drawbacks. Firstly, this practice can narrow the choices of diet for consumers as many types of plants cannot be grown and thrive in the country’s weather conditions and need to be imported from other nations. Secondly, limiting imports could come at the economic costs for many countries where export is their main source of profits. For example, exporting rice has created huge revenues for Vietnam, and significantly contribute high taxes to the government, raising the national fund for improving citizens’ health care and education. Therefore, If less rice were exported, there would be an insufficient budget allocated to solving these issues. On the one hand, I agree that limiting imported food and supporting locally produced products are beneficial to the environment. It is irrefutable this practice can help reduce the amount of CO2 released into the atmosphere owing to the reduction in transporting produce transnationally involving or operating in several nations or nationalities transnational by plane or ferry. In addition, producing the adequate amount of food for the population’s size could reduce food waste, which is then decomposed and emit methane and CO2 into the atmosphere, aggravating the global warming. Last but not least, consuming domestically produced produce and reduced import would lessen the competition between local farmers and other foreign suppliers, boosting sale of own-brand food and thus increasing the income of local producers. In conclusion, despite the downsides of restricting imports and focus on local products, I support these practices owing to the great benefits they offer.