In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that our foodstuff greatly affects our well-being. This is the reason, some people believe that there should be a tax applied on junk food by the governments. This essay will discuss why I strongly agree with this stance because it is accumulating in our population and also affecting the fitness of our school going children. Eating junk and processed feed are extremely unhealthy for people of every age. They contain high amounts of unsaturated fats, calories, and salts which in turn cause serious problems; the most common ones are cardiac arrest, stroke, hypertension, diabetes, and obesity. The reason behind this Western influenced and sedentary lifestyle is that, chain restaurants and companies providing frozen TV Dinners and finger food spend a bulk of their profit on advertising their stuff, which ultimately persuade people to buy them. For example, we can see that KFC, McDonald's, Pizza Hut is always over crowded whenever we visit, furthermore, eating sausages, chilled or canned food like mushrooms and fish is now more trending in most families, because they are ready to use. The only solution to this problem is that governments should induce taxes, on manufacturers, sales tax could be raised in order to limit their sale with the result that customers could be stopped. Another danger is for the school going gentry and adolescents who are provided with unhealthy snacks in their school cafeterias. It is observed that age groups of 6-12 and then youngsters are seen to be fond of burgers and pizzas, but the problem is that the obesity rate is also rapidly increasing. We can say that obesity has now become an epidemic which is spreading quickly in various continents, especially in Europe, America and after that Asia. In 1975 according to estimates, for instance, in Pakistan there were only 10% obese kids in schools, but now this amount has expanded to 40%. The research also revealed that there are millions of them falling every year into health hazards due to their bad eating habits. To conclude, our body is regulated by what we eat, unhealthy and fat rich diet depleted our health. To solve this dilemma, governments should impose duties on readily available and frozen meals. I believe it would be a positive step if it is taken by the authorities to alter our lifestyle and keeping our youth safe and healthy.