Some people say that shops should sell food products from the local area whenever possible rather than sell food imported from other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to globalization, importing and exporting of goods including food has become increasingly common. Some people may argue that this is good as they can taste a variety of foods, but I hold the opinion that local food should be given priority over the food from foreign countries as it is fresh and less costly. First of all, I believe that food that is produced in your own country is fresher as it may be brought to stores on a daily basis. On the other hand, food which is brought from other countries is usually stored in cold warehouses and preservatives are used so that food does not get spoiled. There is a difference in the quality of food which is naturally fresh and that which is kept at low temperatures to keep it fresh. It is a well known fact that the fresher the food, healthier the people. Doctors usually advise people to avoid frozen and processed food which can be easily done by eating locally produced food. Secondly, food grown and sold locally is less expensive as compared to the food which is imported. The reason being there is no additional transportation and storage costs for food to bring to stores. For example, If vegetables are to be imported to Canada from India due to the growing population of Indians here, it will involve high shipment costs. In conclusion, I strongly agree that food which is grown in your native area is cheaper and of good quality as it is not preserved for longer times as it needs to be done for the food which is brought from other countries.